Part 21 Design Technician (Special Purpose Award, Level 7) 

Limerick Institute of Technology 


About the Course 

CAO Code 

Minimum Points 

NFQ Level 

Delivery Mode 




7 (Special Purpose Award) 

1-week course 

5 Days (10am-5pm) 



This programme is aimed at those with an aircraft maintenance background or engineering background looking for a career in airworthiness as a design engineer. It focuses on initial airworthiness , particularly the classification and approval of modifications and repair. The 5-day course is industry-led and designed to address the shortage of design engineers in EASA approved design and production organizations. The course fee is €1,500 , however 30% funding is available from Skillnet. 


Minimum Requirements 


  • Level 6 qualification in aircraft maintenance 
  • An aviation degree at level 6 or above 
  • Extensive experience in aircraft maintenance industry 

Structure/Content of the Course 

  • Legislation of Part 21 Design. 
  • TCDS Type Certificate Data Sheet Certification.
  • Specifications/Airworthiness codes. 
  • Design Organisation and Means of Compliance. 
  • Instructions for Continued Airworthiness. 
  • Supplemental Type Certificates and Modifications. 
  • Flammability and Flammability Testing Part 1. 
  • Flammability and Flammability Testing Part 2. 
  • Painting, Weight and Balance, Flight Control Balance. 
  • Development of a minor modification/repair and presentation of the package to an authority for approval. 


Career Opportunities 

On successful completion of this course, participants will have a greater understanding of initial airworthiness in part 21 design organizations, particularly the design and modification of aircraft parts. This will prepare them for positions as a design engineer and will also allow more experienced participants to develop professionally.